2 Canadians wanting to move to Hawaii

All questions and topics related to US work visas, immigration, etc should be posted here.

Moderator: visaplace.com

Sullivan22New Member
Topic author

2 Canadians wanting to move to Hawaii

Post Wed May 07, 2008 2:36 pm

My husband and I (both Canadian citizens) recently purchased a vacation condo in Maui and love it so much that we're thinking of moving there. We have no 'ins' so to speak, but I have a Bachelor of Commerce degree and several years' experience in advertising and he has several years' experience in executive level management for a large company but no university degree. What, if any, are our options?
StevenCanuckAbroad VIP
Topics: 6

Post Wed May 07, 2008 11:07 pm

You might be able to get TN-1, have a look at the NAFTA occupation list that fit your qualifications and apply for jobs in Hawaii that are in those occupations. Or you can do an E-2 and start up a business there. TN-1 is a lot less hassle than an E-2 though. But you're tied to an employer with TN-1, and there's always the risk the USCIS might decide you're not there "temporarily" anymore.
Steve.
mcainesNew Member

Re: 2 Canadians wanting to move to Hawaii

Post Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:24 am

Hello,

I'm a new member to this forum and I'm looking for some advice.

My wife and I live in New Brunswick and would like to live/work in Hawaii for a couple of years. I have an MBA and just received my CMA (accounting designation).

I'm looking to understand how to go about this. Should I be applying for a US work permit before I start the job search? Or should I try and get a job with a Hawaii employer and have them sponsor my application? Or are there other approaches that would better?

Cheers!
StevenCanuckAbroad VIP
Topics: 6

Post Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:12 am