Canadian resident- How to buy a home in USA?

Canadian Expats and travelers in the USA can communicate with each other here!

Moderator: visaplace.com

LyciousNew Member
Topic author

Canadian resident- How to buy a home in USA?

Post Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:25 am

Hello,

I'm a Canadian resident but am interested in buying a home in the U.S.A. Please assist me in this process and provide any information.

1. Can a Canadian resident buy a home in the U.S?

2. Can we get a mortgage in Canada to buy in the U.S?

3. What are the process of this if possible?

4. Anything relating to Tax I should know about?

5. Can I rent out the property once purchased?

6. Would a property manager/agent be required if I want to rent out my property?

7. What would the general cost be for this?

Any help anyone can give me on this is greatly appreciated. Thanks very much.
StevenCanuckAbroad VIP
Topics: 6

Re: Canadian resident- How to buy a home in USA?

Post Wed Jan 16, 2008 11:06 am

Lycious wrote:1. Can a Canadian resident buy a home in the U.S?

Yes, you pay money, take title, no different than anyone else.

2. Can we get a mortgage in Canada to buy in the U.S?

Not if you're a Canadian resident, and getting mortgages at the moment even for US residents is hard (which is why the real estate market is in freefall). But you can get a bank loan in Canada, so if you can make a large down payment you can do it that way. You could take out a second mortgage on your own house in Canada perhaps.

4. Anything relating to Tax I should know about?

Property taxes may be higher because you are non-resident, this is especially the case in Florida but other States also have smaller "homestead" exemptions that you will not qualify for as a non-resident. Any sort of sales tax rebate that a State may have (and they are rare) you would not qualify for.

5. Can I rent out the property once purchased?

Yep. Be aware of State laws on landlord responsiblities, etc.