RN on TN visa getting Married

All questions and topics related to US work visas, immigration, etc should be posted here.

Moderator: visaplace.com

smoozy82New Member
Topic author

RN on TN visa getting Married

Post Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:00 pm

Hi. I have been working in the US with a TN visa for the past five years, with plans on marrying a US citizen. We are planning on getting married in Canada and living in the US. I will continue to work at the same job that I have held since being here. I would like to apply for a green card after we get married, or do I need to start the application before? Can I remain in the US during the application process? If I can, do I need to change my TN status to something else? I would appreciate any help. Thank you
Reba

Post Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:14 am

You cannot start a marriage based petition before you get married.

How much time do you have on your current TN? You can apply to adjust status after you get married, but once you send in that petition, you may be denied a renewal on your next TN based on your immigrant intent.

go have a look at www.visajourney.com for information on marriage based immigration.
TNVisaExpertModerator

Post Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:45 pm

Be careful how you do this cause you may not be able to enter the U.S. on your existing visa if you get married in Canada.

Plan well so that you are not stuck in Canada waiting for your visa while your spouse is in the U.S.

Good Luck.
smoozy82New Member
Topic author

Post Sat Jan 19, 2008 11:32 am

So the best thing to do would be get married with my TN visa status and then once back in the US apply for a Green Card. Would that work?
Reba

Post Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:43 am