WHM visa holder applying for Tier 2 work visa

All questions and topics related to UK work visas, immigration, etc should be posted here.
MysticWolfNew Member
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }

Post Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:35 pm

I am currently living and working in the UK, London to be specific under my WHM visa that I got in April 2008. I've been working for about 8 months and my employer has expressed interest in continuing my employment past the 12 months that I am allowed to work. Everything on my employers end is currently in the process of being worked out which leaves me to begin sorting the things on my end. It seems from what I can gather that I need to fly back to Canada, make my application there and wait for the results, simple enough. My issue is that I have two dogs here in London that I brought over with me when I came here last year. The thought of flying them back to Canada for a few weeks then back over here is something that doesn't sit well for me since it is a process that is just stressful and not something I wish to repeat until I move back to Canada on a more permanent basis. What I am wondering now is if it is at all possible for me to rush my application. The information available on this is dodgy and not very clear. I would be able to leave my dogs for two weeks at the maximum while I am in Canada making my application. The friend I live with has already committed to being able to look after them. Past that time though it is not realistic for me to not be here. Given that it can take 6 weeks to get an answer on the application of the visa I feel quite stuck.