Canadian wanting to move to the UK

All questions and topics related to UK work visas, immigration, etc should be posted here.
tofu81New Member
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }

Canadian wanting to move to the UK

Post Sat Aug 08, 2009 7:46 pm

I've been researching online all the options as to what is involved in moving to the uk. I know getting a work permit is a long shot, especially in this economy so i wanted to see if there was another way.

As for education, i have a college diploma as a laboratory assistant. I don't know if that's enough to apply for the Tier 1 Visa. I don't think it is?

I have a good friend that lives there which is most of the reason that i want to move there, but neither of us want to get married, which i understand would actually make things easier, but not sure i want to go down that road just yet.

I have great grandparents that came to canada from the uk but not grandparents, so that rules out the ancestry visa i believe.

Kind of at a dead end, so if anyone has any other information that could help me out, i would greatly appreciate it.

rogueprinzessNew Member

Re: Canadian wanting to move to the UK

Post Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:31 pm

I'm in the same boat, and i just turned 31 so I'm hooped for the tier 5 visa.

Any suggestions that someone living there could provide would be awesome!

cottagegirlNew Member

Post Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:25 am

Hi, I am new to this site and like you would like to move to the UK, Wales to be specific, to live with my friend there. He is divorced and I am in the process......and so cannot get married at this point, and not sure that we want to. Actually, when my divorce is final, I would like to remain that way.